Most high school boys will ask to borrow their parent’s car, but what Michio Kaku asked his mother for was extraordinary!

Most high school boys will ask to borrow their parent’s car, but what Michio Kaku asked his mother for was extraordinary!

Most boys in high school are interested in girls or sport or in skateboarding with their buddies. It is less than seldom that a teenager comes home and asks his mother: ""Mom, can I have permission to build a 2.3 million volt atom smasher betatronic accelerator in my garage?" That is what Michio Kaku asked his mother when he was still in school! Her answer is almost stranger than his question! "Yes, but only once you have taken out the garbage."

He got hold of 400 pounds of transformer steel, 22 miles of copper wire, and he and his parents wound a 6 kilowatt, 10,000 gauss magnetic field on the high school football field. He put 22 pounds of copper wire on the goal post and gave the wire to his mother. She then ran to the 50-yard line and gave the wire to her husband who ran to the goal post. Together they wound 22 miles of copper wire on the high school football field.

Michio remembers: "It was my proudest achievement, this 400 pound, 6 kw, 10,000 gauss magnetic field in a 2.3 million volt electronic accelerator. I closed my eyes, I plugged my ears, I plugged in the wall socket into the garage circuit, and I heard this pop, pop, pop sound as I blew out every single circuit breaker in the house."

(Source)

Leave a Reply

